Can Formula 1's Fernando Alonso Master the Indy 500 Too?

Formula 1
Updated Sunday 28th May 2017, 06:40 PM

The 101st edition of the Indianapolis 500, more commonly known as the Indy 500, will take place at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Sunday 28 May. Dubbed ‘The Greatest Spectacle in Racing’, the race comprises 200 laps of the 2.5-mile circuit, and this year’s event will see Formula 1 driver Fernando Alonso participate for the first time. The 35-year-old Spaniard has two F1 Championship titles to his credit, so motor racing fans are now asking themselves if Fernando Alonso can master the Indy 500 too.

How the Bookies See It

  • Race Winner: Fernando Alonso 7/1, Simon Pagenaud 7/1, Will Power 7/1, Juan Pablo Montoya 9/1, Scott Dixon 9/1 – Paddy Power


Fernando Alonso is widely known as one of the best drivers in Formula 1, having won 32 races and achieved 97 podium finishes from 277 starts. He won the F1 Drivers’ Championship twice, in 2005 and 2006, and will be participating in this year’s Indy 500 for Andretti Autosport as part of his attempt to win a triple crown (a win in each of the Indy 500, F1 Monaco GP and Le Mans) – something that has only ever been achieved once before, by Graham Hill.

Simon Pagenaud has been an IndyCar driver since 2011, and won the IndyCar Series Championship in 2016. He has participated in the Indy 500 for the last five years, and his best result was in 2013, when he finished in eighth place. His overall IndyCar Series record is 9 wins and 19 podium finishes from 72 starts, and he currently races for Team Penske.

Will Power is another Team Penske driver, and has participated in the Indy 500 since 2008. His best finish was in 2015, when he finished the race in second place, and his overall record from 124 races is 28 wins and 41 podium finishes. Power will come to the 101st Indy 500 on the back of a win in the 2017 IndyCar Grand Prix, which took place on Saturday 13 May.

Juan Pablo Montoya is an experienced racing driver in several disciplines, including Formula 1, where he drove for Williams and McLaren between 2001 and 2006, winning a total of seven Grands Prix. He has won the Indy 500 on two previous occasions, in 2000 and 2015, and his overall record as an IndyCar Series driver is 5 wins and 13 podium finishes from 52 races. Montoya will be driving for Team Penske.

Scott Dixon made his IndyCar Series debut in 2003, and has since notched up 40 wins and 89 podium finishes from 237 starts. He has won the Drivers’ Championship four times, in 2003, 2008, 2013 and 2015, and has participated in the Indy 500 14 times, winning it in 2008 and finishing in second place in 2007 and 2012. Dixon drives for Chip Ganassi Racing.’s View

All of these drivers have a decent chance of winning the Indy 500, but Fernando Alonso, Juan Pablo Montoya and Scott Dixon are the ones that appeal the most. If we were to bet according to IndyCar form alone then previous winners Montoya and Dixon would be the ones to focus on, but Alonso is coming here with a very specific goal in mind, and his triple crown ambition could well provide all the motivation he needs to succeed. We will therefore give the Spaniard our support and back him each-way to add an Indy 500 win to his already impressive CV.

  •’s Top Tip: Fernando Alonso each-way – 7/1 at Paddy Power

*Please note, odds may change as the race approaches.

Written By
Last Updated: Sunday, 28 May 2017 06:40:20+00:00
Published By

Found this article interesting?
Share it on Social Media!