Golf Betting Preview for 2017

Updated Thursday 21st February 2019, 12:12 PM

Golf fans who enjoy betting on the sport tend to have a rather quiet period at this time of year, but the good news is that 2017 is just around the corner and will bring with it a host of fresh opportunities to turn knowledge and insight into profit. The oddsmakers have already priced up plenty of events for next year, including all four majors and the Race to Dubai, so let’s take a look at how they currently view the chances of the biggest players and see if we can identify a long-term winner.


  • The 2016 US Masters was the 80th running of the tournament and saw English player Danny Willett win his first major championship, beating Jordan Spieth and Lee Westwood into second place. Spieth had won this competition in 2015 by four strokes, and did very well to fall just three strokes short of achieving back-to-back wins. Spieth is in great form and achieved his second Australian Open win just last month, which should set things up nicely for a successful 2017. This is the only majors tournament that Rory McIlroy has yet to win, with his best result being fourth place in 2015.
  • Dustin Johnson won the 2016 US Open, finishing four under par, with Jim Furyk, Shane Lowry and Scott Piercy all tied for second place at one under par. Johnson had finished in second place to Jordan Spieth in 2015, and is fourth in the betting to follow up with another win in 2017. Of the four market leaders, Jason Day is the only player who has yet to win this major, but he did manage a second place finish in 2013, and he is the current world number one, so perhaps next year will be the one in which he makes his US Open breakthrough.
  • The 2016 Open Championship was won by Sweden’s Henrik Stenson, who finished 20 under par, which was three strokes clear of Phil Mickelson in second place and a whopping 14 strokes clear of third placed J.B. Holmes. Stenson, who has recently been named 2016 European Tour Golfer of the Year, had finished second to Mickelson in 2013 here and Rory McIlroy won the tournament in 2014
  • Jimmy Walker won the 2016 PGA Championship, just one stroke ahead of Australian Jason Day, at 14 under par. That was Walker’s first success in a major since he turned professional in 2001, and he is a 50/1 shot to repeat the feat in 2017. Current favourite Rory McIlroy won this tournament in 2012 and 2014 and Jason Day won it in 2015. 
  • This year’s Race to Dubai winner was Henrik Stenson, which is no doubt part of the reason (along with his wins in the US Open and BMW International Open and getting a silver medal at the Rio Olympics) why he received the European Tour Golfer of the Year title mentioned earlier. This is the second time that Stenson has won the competition, the first being in 2013. Rory McIlroy lost his chance to win this year by withdrawing from the Turkish Airlines Open in October, but won the competition in 2012, 2014 and 2015.’s View

2016 was a phenomenal year for Henrik Stenson, and he looks to be in a very good position to add more big wins to his CV in the next twelve months or so. Jason Day and Jordan Spieth are also likely to fare well in the majors next year, but betting on an individual player to win a specific tournament this far in advance doesn’t appeal. We will therefore tip Henrik Stenson as an each-way bet to win the 2017 Race to Dubai, and we look forward to another year of success for the Swede.

  •’s Top Tip –  Henrik Stenson to win the 2017 Race to Dubai (each way) – 5/1

*Please note, odds may fluctuate.

Last Updated: Thursday, 21 February 2019 12:12:17+00:00
Published By

Found this article interesting?
Share it on Social Media!